Posted by: screan | January 1, 2012

“Small as an Elephant” – great book

Small as an ElephantSmall as an Elephant by Jennifer Richard Jacobson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was blown away by this book. Jack, an independent 10 year old boy, wakes up at the Acadia National Park in Maine only to find out that his mother has left. He is upset, but not surprised. His mom is bipolar, and in the throes of a manic episode. Jack knows that his future is at stake, and not wanting to be taken from his mom, tries to find her. I am convinced the author must have a close family member who is bipolar in order to have nailed the character of Jack’s mom. I felt like I was with Jack every step of the way.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Categories

